Dueling legislators

The Kentucky House Committee on Elections, Constitutional Amendments and Intergovernmental Affairs approved Tuesday a bill by state Rep. Darryl Owens, a Louisville Democrat, to remove language about dueling from the state’s oath of office.

The oath currently says: “I do solemnly swear (or affirm, as the case may be) that I will support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of this Commonwealth, and be faithful and true to the Commonwealth of Kentucky so long as I continue a citizen thereof, and that I will faithfully execute, to the best of my ability, the office of Secretary of State according to law; and I do further solemnly swear (or affirm) that since the adoption of the present Constitution, I, being a citizen of this State, have not fought a duel with deadly weapons within this State nor out of it, nor have I sent or accepted a challenge to fight a duel with deadly weapons, nor have I acted as second in carrying a challenge, nor aided or assisted any person thus offending, so help me God.”

 State officials have sworn that oath when taking office since 1891.

 Owens’ bill now goes to the full House for consideration.

One Response

  1. Good move. As a transplant (now 6 years) from the East Coast, the oath has always seemed quaint, at best. There are wonderful things about our heritage here in the Commonweath that should be preserved. This isn’t one of them.

Leave a Reply

