Governor names Commission on Philanthropy

Gov. Steve Beshear signed an executive order today creating a state Commission on Philanthropy to help direct charitable efforts in the state .

“State government can’t meet the demand for all the services required by the people of Kentucky, not under the current economic conditions,” Beshear said in a written statement. “We need partners now more than ever, and we must continue to find ways to be responsive to Kentucky families and move the state forward. The time is right to join forces in an unprecedented effort for the greater good of the commonwealth.”

The commission’s first push will be in the area of early childhood education and child health, and a summit organized by the group is planned for June.

The 28-member commission will be chaired by Judith Clabes of Paris who is with the Scripps Howard Foundation and includes Rodney Berry of Owensboro, who heads the Public Life Foundation. 

Other notable members of the commission, which includes members of philanthropic foundations and the business sector, are Billy Harper of Paducah, a Republican who ran for governor in 2007, former UK basketball player Jamal Mashburn of Lexington, and Nick Nicholson, who heads Keeneland in Lexington.

Here’s the complete list – 

  • Judith G. Clabes, Scripps Howard Foundation, Paris – chair
  • Rodney Berry, Public Life Foundation, Owensboro
  • Helen M. Carroll, Toyota Motor Engineering and Manufacturing NA, Erlanger
  • Ann Coffey, Women 4 Women Foundation, Louisville
  • Sandra Davis, Davis on the Highlands, Springfield
  • Scott Davis, Raymond B. Preston Family Foundation, Henderson
  • Laura Douglas, Eon-US Foundation, Louisville
  • William Engle, E.O. Robinson Mountain Fund, Hazard
  • Sandra Frazier, Tandem Public Relations, Louisville
  • Penny Friedman, InterAct for Change Kentucky, Cincinnati
  • Kelly Gilbert, Fidelity Investments, Covington
  • Billy Harper, Harper Industries, Paducah
  • Wade Houston, Houston-Johnson, Inc., Louisville
  • Charles Johnson,  Houston-Johnson, Inc., Louisville
  • Bryan Lummus, Alliance Resource Partners, Lexington
  • Tim Maloney, Haile/USBank Foundation, Cincinnati
  • Jamal Mashburn, Lexington
  • Carolyn B. May, Community Foundation of Hazard-Perry County, Lexington
  • Anne Nash, Bluegrass Community Foundation, Lexington
  • Nick Nicholson, Keeneland, Lexington
  • Mike Philipps, Scripps Howard Foundation, Cincinnati
  • Angela Thomas, Spray Foundation, Lexington
  • Alan Turbyfill, Wilderness Trace Community Foundation, Danville
  • Tony Watkins, Community Foundation of West Kentucky, Paducah
  • Laura Williams, Knight Foundation, Lexington
  • Mary Whitten Wiseman, Tri-State Community, Inc., Ashland
  • Susan Zepeda, Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky, Louisville
  • Wilbert L. Ziegler, R.C. Durr Foundation, Covington
  • Advertisements

    One Response

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

    You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: