Fancy Farm picnic plans

I’ll be heading down to Graves County this afternoon to cover the Fancy Farm picnic for the Messenger-Inquirer – a first for me.

Talking to folks this week who regularly attend this picnic that’s held each year on the first Saturday in August, the most common advice I’ve heard is to be sure to wear a short-sleeved shirt. Given that the temperature is expected to be about 96 degrees tomorrow, that advice won’t be hard to follow.

I plan to head by the picnic site at St. Jerome Catholic Church south of the town of Fancy Farm this afternoon to see what kind of preparations are under way for tomorrow’s event. I’ll then be off to Kentucky Lake State Park for the rally hosted by the Marshall County GOP Women that starts at 5 p.m. and then on to the bean dinner at Kentucky Dam Village hosted by the Marshall County Democratic Party for their faithful, which kicks off at 6 p.m.

I’ll try to make posts to At the River’s Bend as I’m able, and will have a wrap-up of all I’m able to take in later tonight here on At the River’s Bend and then in Saturday’s Messenger-Inquirer.

Stay tuned and wish me luck.

– Owen

Leave a Reply

